Melt In Your Mouth Homemade Bread

20 Jan

20130120-180704.jpg

I feel like it’s been awhile since I last posted something. But to be honest, I haven’t been baking much over the past week. Sometimes life gets in the way of making that perfect cake, or wanting to make that perfect dish, when really all you feel like doing after work is going home and relaxing.

I have been taking a cake decorating class, so I have been busy making cakes to practice. I swear, once I get it right I will post pictures. I have perfected the chocolate, I know that much. Stay tuned cause next week I will have the recipe for that. It’s so moist that one piece is just not enough. However, my decorating skills are not all there yet but with lots of practice, I know I will get there. I’ll post pictures of my final cake next Sunday, hopefully it turns out the way I want it to.

This weekend, I decided to try a new bread recipe, sweet honey dinner rolls. This recipe is by far the best bread recipe I have tried. I was never a fan of making bread by hand. The dough never came out right, or my hands got tired of kneading the bread, but now that I have the dough hook for my kitchen aid mixer, it has become the quickest thing to make, and tastes so much better than store bought bread. But then again, isn’t everything?

Here is the recipe for this melt in your mouth bread. Trust me, if you have the time and have never made these before. I highly recommend trying it out, you will not be disappointed.

Yield: makes 3 dozen rolls

Ingredients (taken from I Wash You Dry Blog)

2 3/4 cups warm water (run hot water out of your tap)
1/4 cup honey
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup Butter Flavor Crisco ( I used regular Crisco)
1 1/2 tsp yeast
7 cups flour + more if needed
butter for brushing on top of rolls
Instructions

In the bowl of your stand mixer (fitted with your dough hook) add warm water, honey, salt and yeast. Stir it gently and let it sit for 5 minutes till the yeast activates and gets foamy.
Add the Crisco and one cup of flour at a time and mix until dough starts to form. Keep adding flour until the dough starts to pick up dough off the sides of the bowl and is not sticky when touched with your finger. Let your machine knead the dough for 15 minutes total.
Once it’s done kneading cover the bowl with a clean cloth towel and place in a warm spot (by a window or on top of the oven works) and let the dough rise for 1 hour.
After an hour punch down the dough and divide the dough into large golf ball size balls. Arrange about an inch apart on a baking sheet or casserole dish. Cover again with towel and leave in a warm place to rise for another hour.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Once the rolls have risen for the second time, place them in the oven and bake for 20 minutes.
Remove them from oven and immediately brush butter on the tops of the rolls.

Enjoy.

20130120-180639.jpg

Leave a Reply

Peri's Spice Ladle

Indian-inspired Food for the Global Palate

Mustard Seed Budget

FINANCES FOR YOUR MINISTRY

mydearbakes

showcasing my dear's wonderful bakes!

Bohoscandi

Vegetarian Food & Style Blog

Globe Trotter Kiu

The cute fluffy plushie's blog / Le blog de Kiu, la peluche voyageuse !

